Home > Uncategorized > Google Chrome – The Newest Thing In Browsers

Google Chrome – The Newest Thing In Browsers


Google entered the browser world today with their own, built from the ground up, open sourced browser called Chrome.  You can download it here.  It’s currently in Beta ( but what of Google’s is not a beta ) and only available on XP and Vista ( but the Mac and Linux versions are in the works ).  I have not had time to do anything more than install it and post this using chrome.   Google released a comicbook of sorts to describe all the new features and functions.  It all sounds impressive.  I really like the idea that each tab is its own process and not a thread in a monster browser process.  

Should help with the ever growing memory hogs like Firefox and IE.  Anyway, check it out and let me know what you find out.  Next stop for me is to put it through its paces with APEX.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. Stew
    September 2, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Yeah and it looks pretty good too. I’ve only spent a few minutes with it, but it seems pretty stable. Not a whole host of eye-candy (yet), but it imported my FireFox bookmarks just fine, let me save a tab as a desktop icon to open as if it were a separate application, etc. At some point I’m sure I’m gonna miss that File,Edit,View, etc menubar, but I haven’t found a reason for it yet.

    The built-in spell-checker for when you type in a comment box (like this one) doesn’t seem to have an option for adding an unrecognized word to their dictionary (e.g. doesn’t recognize “FireFox”).

    Otherwise not too shabby for fresh into beta!

  2. Tony
    September 3, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    I think that the sparse UI is a little too sparse. However, the performance is pretty nice and I really like the “task manager” feature where I can see how much memory and CPU each tab or plugin is using and then kill a tab if I need to. The idea that each tab is its own process is a great idea. I like most viewed websites showing up when I open a new tab, it makes things just a little bit faster. On the whole, I find it very FF’ish which isn’t a bad thing.

  3. September 3, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    should be interesting to see if Chrome works more efficiently than FireFox and IE… if it’s faster than Firefox, since isn’t IE, then i’ll use it

  1. September 2, 2008 at 7:16 pm

Leave a Reply

